Knocked out of Node Knockout

I had spent this Saturday participating in Node Knockout. I had planned for a little Travelogue web app called Mapvel, with which one can share his experience about the current location, hence other users can get what people think about a place. I was planning to make use of a person’s real location by using the HTML 5 Geolocation API.

My team name was Struggler, that shouldn’t be a surprise considering that I am making this post.

But then things went downhill from there. I got this idea around 10 hours into the competition. Then I realized that to store Geolocation and perform spatial queries, I would need to use MongoDB. But this was the first time I had even planned to use it. Then I thought, lets make people sign in with Twitter, oh well, this was the first time I was implementing OAuth stuff in Node.js. Hence most of my time was spent in reading the docs and playing around with these. The build part comes later.

Apart from that there were some awesome happenings in college (I am being sarcastic!) and I also have 4 project submission to do this week. Excuses aside, I sat Saturday evening and night and got a basic version of the app running. Twitter login worked, MongoDB worked, I started hating Jade even more. Today morning I woke up and decided to give up.

It was good experience, I was coding fast, and learning fast as well, I just implemented login with Twitter and was querying MongoDB in few hours. Maybe I’ll get back to completing this Mapvel some other time.

Knocked out of Node Knockout

2 thoughts on “Knocked out of Node Knockout

  1. Awesome work. Actually I was also working on the same thing but it would be better if you convert this to mobile app. Implementing twitter OAuth takes time it happened with me also but you can integrate FB OAuth because its simple and its not that much complicated and the advantage is you will get more users.

Leave a Reply

